Reviews by Tour Type

Pages

Recommended for anybody wanting the very best of birding in Sri Lanka

15 Apr 2019

This tour has been very successful in every way. The number of species seen in seven days exceeded my expectations. The total being 121. my guide Thilina was experienced at finding the endemic birds we were focusing on together with his knowledge of all things about the natural world.
The accommodation was very good and had been well selected. I rate Thilina as the very best guide one could have in Sri Lanka.
On general issues I found walk with Jith easy to work with and recommend them to anybody wanting the very best of birding in Sri Lanka.

Alan Wall
Bristol, UK

Guide Thilina recommended especially of bird photographers -- outstanding!

7 Apr 2019

Tony and Christine with Thilina
Tony and Christine with Thilina

We could not have wished for better.

Our guide Tilly (Thilina) was outstanding and we would recommend him to anyone- especially bird photographers. Accommodation was very good and the gardens around Hibiscus and Blue Magpie were “dripping” with birds.

We had a great holiday and would definitely use WWJ again. These guys really know their birds and where to find them.

Tony and Christine

Australia

Most well organised Birding tour we’ve ever undertaken

30 Mar 2019

Dave Tanner with Guide Athula
Dave Tanner with Guide Athula

Hi Jith​

Mary & I are now back home and fully recovered from our long flight from Colombo to Scotland via Dubai (26 hours travelling).

Firstly, we would like to thank you personally for organising a wonderful tour. We’re both of the opinion that this was the best and most well organised Birding tour we’ve ever undertaken, a credit to your planning .

We would also like to take this opportunity to once again thank Athula, who primarily was an excellent guide, driver and general all-round fixer . At a number of our hotels the staff didn’t seem to understand the concept of being vegetarian, on one occasion even thinking that Chicken soup was vegetarian . Not to worry, all sorted by Athula.

Birding and exploring the ecosystems - fabulous trip

3 Mar 2019

for those who are interested in birding and exploring the ecosystems of Sri Lanka,

this is a fabulous trip. Our guide Susantha was extremely knowledgeable and

accommodating to our interests.

Our hotels were a mix of quality most of the staffs were exceedingly helpful and

friendly. We loved the quietness of the Ferncliff Inn.

This was a great experience for us.

Seattle, USA

Guide Dhammika - very knowledgeable, affable and fun to be with

18 Feb 2019

We had an excellent trip.

Our guide Dhammika was very knowledgeable, affable and fun to be with.

The care and attention and emphasis on meeting our individual needs was always a priority. Sri Lanka is a treasure house for birding, and we were guided wonderfully well to see all we wanted to see. In addition, the driving, drivers, tracker, hotels and extra activities were fabulous. Overall, we would highly recommend walk with Jith and Dhammika.

Thankyou.

Such a well-organized tour and most excellent guide

12 Feb 2019

This was our first experience of wildlife guided tour, and overall it was very positive.

Jith kept in touch with us and responded to our questions both promptly and clearly before we set off for Sri Lanka. Also, As we organised some days on our own doing culture, history and relaxation, both at the beginning of our trip and at the end, the arrangements for meeting us and dropping us were both flexible and worked well.

Our guide, Senerath, was excellent, knowledgeable, committed and excellent at finding birds that we would have had no chance of finding on our own. He was also good at other wildlife also – butterflies, reptiles, mammals, plants etc. He also

shared with us on general culture and life in Sri Lanka generally, which we really appreciated.

Understanding, attentive, punctual, v. good sense of humor -- decided to come back!

12 Feb 2019

Dear Jith,

Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday!

We thought we would give detailed feedback in email form and enclose a photo or two.

GUIDE

Our guide Chameera was just perfect. He quickly realised in early conversations what we wanted from our holiday and tailored it to be just right for us. He was quietly attentive, punctual and had a very good sense of humour, coping very well with us! He also introduced us to a bit of bird watching and despite this being a non-birding holiday, we saw ten endemics which gave us a lot of pleasure.

We had such a good experience with Cham and enjoyed Sri Lanka so much that we have decided to come back next year and would very much like Cham to be our guide. We have already discussed a rough itinerary with him for next year.

HOTELS

Kingsbury Hotel  - 5 Stars from us.

Sorrowa Resort - 3 stars from us.

Upali was determined, 34 endemics birds seen, 29 photographed! total 230+

9 Feb 2019

Bill Rowe
Bill Rowe with Upali

My initial contact was with Jith at the Rutland Birdfair. I was impressed by his knowledge and enthusiasm – so did not look at any other company in detail. All communication has been very prompt, all questions answered to my satisfaction and all printed material very clear (really liked the photos)

Jith promptly met me at the airport and introduced us me to Upali, my guide/ driver.

Happily personalized the itinerary to suit our requirements

1 Feb 2019

 

We are so pleased we booked with “Walk With Jith” from our first enquiry, the company was professional and responsive, and happy to design our personal itinerary to suit our requirements. Our guide Chameera was very knowledgeable and worked very hard to make our bird watching holiday so enjoyable.

We have seen a total of 186 birds, of which 29 were endemics. Of those we saw 180 and 26 endemics during the tour with Chameera of walkwithjith. We have had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday with Chameera. We saw the 26 endemics in just 2 days.

We will be happy to recommend walkwithjith to our friends and family.

Regards,

Simon and Liz Pierce
London, UK

Good value for a memorable experience

1 Feb 2019

Susantha is everything one could wish for in a guide, possessing birding and people kills in equal measure. He willingly shared his knowledge, his love of Sri Lanka and enthusiasm for birding while adapting the itinerary to meet our physical limitations and putting up with our grousing about the early morning starts. He really made an effort to make sure we saw what we came to see.

I would recommend walk with Jith to anyone looking for a birding trip to Sri Lanka. We were entirely satisfied with the transportation, hotels, meals – not to mention the wonderful sightings of birds and other wildlife. Good value for a memorable experience.

Pages