Reviews by Tour Type

Pages

Recommend Walk With Jith to anyone visiting this beautiful country

19 Jun 2019
Erik Enbody and Grace Sprehn in Rain Forest with Thilina

Erik Enbody and Grace Sprehn in Rain Forest with Thilina

We chose Walk With Jith and his outstanding guide Thilina for our bird watching holiday in June. We wanted a guide for logistics and for find the more difficult birds. We couldn’t have chosen better. Jith communicated with us for months to plan the perfect itinerary and arranged all the logistics.

On tour Thilina worked day and night to find the birds and mammals. He found all that we wanted and more. More than just a wildlife guide, Thilina was also great at looking after our needs, always flexible and extremely friendly. Along the way Thilina ensured we experienced the best local food and culture, in between focused and productive birding sessions. We can especially recommend him to anyone interested to seeing owls, as he is the most capable and dedicated owl finder we have met.

We work hardly recommend Walk With Jith to anyone visiting this beautiful country.    

Sad time to be in Sri Lanka. But it didn’t spoil our trip.

19 Apr 2019
Safari in Yala National Park -- Lisa Correl and Julian with Thilina

Safari in Yala National Park -- Lisa Correl and Julian with Thilina

Everything was fabulous. Great bird sightings. Great safari.

Excellent hotels (apart from Lake view) Lovely Sri Lankan people

Fabulous food.

Thilina is an amazing guide. Very knowledgeable – polite – nothing too much trouble. He made this a perfect tour. Very sad time to be in Sri Lanka with the awful troubles. But it didn’t spoil out trip. Thank you to Jith and Thilina !!!

Guide Thilina recommended especially of bird photographers -- outstanding!

7 Apr 2019

Tony and Christine with Thilina
Tony and Christine with Thilina

We could not have wished for better.

Our guide Tilly (Thilina) was outstanding and we would recommend him to anyone- especially bird photographers. Accommodation was very good and the gardens around Hibiscus and Blue Magpie were “dripping” with birds.

We had a great holiday and would definitely use WWJ again. These guys really know their birds and where to find them.

Tony and Christine

Australia

Most well organised Birding tour we’ve ever undertaken

30 Mar 2019

Dave Tanner with Guide Athula
Dave Tanner with Guide Athula

Hi Jith​

Mary & I are now back home and fully recovered from our long flight from Colombo to Scotland via Dubai (26 hours travelling).

Firstly, we would like to thank you personally for organising a wonderful tour. We’re both of the opinion that this was the best and most well organised Birding tour we’ve ever undertaken, a credit to your planning .

We would also like to take this opportunity to once again thank Athula, who primarily was an excellent guide, driver and general all-round fixer . At a number of our hotels the staff didn’t seem to understand the concept of being vegetarian, on one occasion even thinking that Chicken soup was vegetarian . Not to worry, all sorted by Athula.

Big success due to the expertise and leadership of our guide Thilina

30 Mar 2019
Tim Snieder and Ramata Cisse with Thilina

Tim Snieder and Ramata Cisse with Thilina

Our birding trip was a big success due to the expertise and leadership of our guide Thilina Karunanayaka. His combination of passion for passion for nature, enthusiasm, resourcefulness and jovial character ensured that we found all 34 endemic species of Sri Lanka, plus a few bonuses! Thilina carried out detailed reconnaissance on the most difficult species, especially owls, seeming to have local contacts assisting him in every place we went. Lastly, we encountered a couple of tricky situations during the trip which our guide took care of in an extremely professional manner. We highly recommend Thilina of Walk With Jith tours to anyone serious about observing birds and / or wildlife in Sri Lanka.

Exceptionally positive experience

19 Mar 2019
Linda Lennon and Clive Duncon

Linda Lennon and Clive Duncon

This has been an exceptionally positive experience from our initial enquiry and creation of a bespoke itinerary to Jith personally meeting us at the airport and introducing us to our superb guide Susa.

Birding and exploring the ecosystems - fabulous trip

3 Mar 2019

Peggy McLeod and Lisa Soli
Peggy McLeod and Lisa Soli

For those who are interested in birding and exploring the ecosystems of Sri Lanka,

this is a fabulous trip. Our guide Susantha was extremely knowledgeable and

accommodating to our interests.

Our hotels were a mix of quality most of the staffs were exceedingly helpful and

friendly. We loved the quietness of the Ferncliff Inn.

This was a great experience for us.

Seattle, USA

Guide Dhammika - very knowledgeable, affable and fun to be with

18 Feb 2019

Jon Wilson - Lynne Martin
Jon Wilson - Lynne Martin

We had an excellent trip.

Our guide Dhammika was very knowledgeable, affable and fun to be with.

The care and attention and emphasis on meeting our individual needs was always a priority. Sri Lanka is a treasure house for birding, and we were guided wonderfully well to see all we wanted to see. In addition, the driving, drivers, tracker, hotels and extra activities were fabulous. Overall, we would highly recommend walk with Jith and Dhammika.

Thank you.

Jon Wilson - Lynne Martin
Jon Wilson - Lynne Martin

 

Jon Wilson - Lynne Martin
Jon Wilson - Lynne Martin

Such a well-organized tour and most excellent guide

12 Feb 2019
Helen and Mike Boothman with Senerath

Helen and Mike Boothman with Senerath

This was our first experience of wildlife guided tour, and overall it was very positive.

Jith kept in touch with us and responded to our questions both promptly and clearly before we set off for Sri Lanka. Also, As we organised some days on our own doing culture, history and relaxation, both at the beginning of our trip and at the end, the arrangements for meeting us and dropping us were both flexible and worked well.

Our guide, Senerath, was excellent, knowledgeable, committed and excellent at finding birds that we would have had no chance of finding on our own. He was also good at other wildlife also – butterflies, reptiles, mammals, plants etc. He also

shared with us on general culture and life in Sri Lanka generally, which we really appreciated.

Understanding, attentive, punctual, v. good sense of humor -- decided to come back!

12 Feb 2019
Christine and Carole with Chameera

Christine and Carole with Chameera

Dear Jith,

Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday!

We thought we would give detailed feedback in email form and enclose a photo or two.

GUIDE

Our guide Chameera was just perfect. He quickly realised in early conversations what we wanted from our holiday and tailored it to be just right for us. He was quietly attentive, punctual and had a very good sense of humour, coping very well with us! He also introduced us to a bit of bird watching and despite this being a non-birding holiday, we saw ten endemics which gave us a lot of pleasure.

We had such a good experience with Cham and enjoyed Sri Lanka so much that we have decided to come back next year and would very much like Cham to be our guide. We have already discussed a rough itinerary with him for next year.

HOTELS

Kingsbury Hotel  - 5 Stars from us.

Sorrowa Resort - 3 stars from us.

Pages