Reviews by Tour Type

Pages

Sad time to be in Sri Lanka. But it didn’t spoil our trip.

19 Apr 2019
Safari in Yala National Park -- Lisa Correl and Julian with Thilina

Safari in Yala National Park -- Lisa Correl and Julian with Thilina

Everything was fabulous. Great bird sightings. Great safari.

Excellent hotels (apart from Lake view) Lovely Sri Lankan people

Fabulous food.

Thilina is an amazing guide. Very knowledgeable – polite – nothing too much trouble. He made this a perfect tour. Very sad time to be in Sri Lanka with the awful troubles. But it didn’t spoil out trip. Thank you to Jith and Thilina !!!

Understanding, attentive, punctual, v. good sense of humor -- decided to come back!

12 Feb 2019
Christine and Carole with Chameera

Christine and Carole with Chameera

Dear Jith,

Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday!

We thought we would give detailed feedback in email form and enclose a photo or two.

GUIDE

Our guide Chameera was just perfect. He quickly realised in early conversations what we wanted from our holiday and tailored it to be just right for us. He was quietly attentive, punctual and had a very good sense of humour, coping very well with us! He also introduced us to a bit of bird watching and despite this being a non-birding holiday, we saw ten endemics which gave us a lot of pleasure.

We had such a good experience with Cham and enjoyed Sri Lanka so much that we have decided to come back next year and would very much like Cham to be our guide. We have already discussed a rough itinerary with him for next year.

HOTELS

Kingsbury Hotel  - 5 Stars from us.

Sorrowa Resort - 3 stars from us.

For a combined wildlife and cultural trip, the bird list exceeded my expectations

24 Jan 2019
Murrya Lord and Family

Murrya Lord and Family

“Organising the trip could not have been any easier. It only took a couple of emails to agree the plan and then we got pricing which made clear what was and was not included. Quick turnaround on questions gave a very positive impression.

Dhammika was a good, professional guide and a safe driver. He was always good humoured and worked hard to make the holiday work smoothly yet flexibly. For a combined wildlife and cultural trip, the bird list exceeded my expectations. We all enjoyed the variety of interesting activities, good accommodations and good wildlife sightings.

As a suggestion for how to improve things, it would have been good if we had a more detailed briefing of what was happening in advanced each day, and sometimes being given a few more options to choose from would be helpful.

For example:

-if we’d known in advanced that the Yala safari included a two-hour lunch break we could have bought a book to read or activities for children.

Best possible birding holiday. Fantastic service!

24 Jan 2019

We have had the best possible birding holiday. Our guide (Upali) has taken excellent care of us throughout and found 215 species, including all the endemics. We have been able to relax totally, knowing that our guide (driver too) would take care of everything, whilst not being intrusive. We had great views of all the species. Upali has also been passionate about the cultural sites.

Jith engaged with our ideas prior to the trip and organised our tailor – made itinerary. All was so easy. At the beginning of the holiday, Walk With Jith drove us to our Air BnB accommodation near Matara, which we had arranged ourselves. The accommodation wasn’t easy to find, but the drives helped locate it and would not leave until we had checked the accommodation and were happy- even though it was our own booking. Fantastic service!  

Alison and Nick Blinston

Nottingham, UK

Our guide, knowledgeable, enthusiastic, looked after us very well

20 Jan 2019
David and Crhis Evans with Athula

David and Crhis Evans with Athula

The trip was very well organised, and we travelled in a comfortable, air-conditioned van. Athula, our guide, was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and looked after us very well, even giving us an insight into Sri Lankan life and its culture, along with plants and their uses. We saw 238 birds on our trip- an excellent total, including nearby all the endemics (or all, depending on which list) with plenty of time for photography.

The hotels were of a good standard.

Tamarind Tree Hotel – very convenient for airport food buffet. Style – ok

Plantation hotel – Quirky and interesting good food and service. Nice location.

Glenfall Reach – Standard hotel room, comfortable staff, very attentive, but food could be poor.

Hibiscus Garden – Good hotel, nice garden good for birds. Excellent staff and very good food. Only problem - hot water had run out by the time we got back from safari.

Unexpected. He could identify trees and flowers

25 Mar 2018

Paul Nex, Judith with Guide AthulaPaul Nex, Judith with Guide Athula

Mr. Senarath, our guide for the holiday was reassuringly there to meet us when we arrived. He looked after us the whole trip occasionally offering us extra possibilities such as a shop at a spice garden or a visit to the Museum in Galle.

We had expected our guide to be able to identify birds for us and tell us something about the history and culture of the island. What was unexpected, but very much appreciated, was that he could identify trees and flowers for us.

We really appreciated the combination of a cultural and birding tour. It was just what we wanted. Everywhere the accommodation and food was good, especially overlooking the beach at Mirissa. Two days at the coast was a great way to end the trip’

Unexpected. He could identify trees and flowers

25 Mar 2018

Paul Nex, Judith with Guide Senerath
Paul Nex, Judith with Guide Senerath

Mr. Senarath, our guide for the holiday was reassuringly there to meet us when we arrived. He looked after us the whole trip occasionally offering us extra possibilities such as a shop at a spice garden or a visit to the Museum in Galle.

We had expected our guide to be able to identify birds for us and tell us something about the history and culture of the island. What was unexpected, but very much appreciated, was that he could identify trees and flowers for us.

We really appreciated the combination of a cultural and birding tour. It was just what we wanted. Everywhere the accommodation and food was good, especially overlooking the beach at Mirissa. Two days at the coast was a great way to end the trip’

Guide: tons of experience and enthusiasm. Outstanding birding and cultural trip

1 Feb 2018

Shailesh Pinto
Shailesh Pinto

Thank you for organizing an outstanding birding and cultural trip to Sri Lanka. The trip exceeded all my expectations!

Upali our guide was fantastic. He is and excellent birder with tons of experience and enthusiasm. Thanks to his efforts I was able to see over 180 species and all endemics. I had given up hope of seeing the last one, the scaly thrush, in Sinharaja forest. But Upali remained optimistic throughout our stay there and made sure we had good looks of this challenging endemic.

I am really glad that a friend recommended Walk With Jith. All the arrangements, accommodations and timely correspondence were wonderful. The service and food everywhere we visited was superb. I would highly recommend your company to my friends and wish you continued success.

Warmest regards,

Shailesh Pinto

Feb 1 – 14, 2018

Pages