Reviews by Tour Type

Pages

Understanding, attentive, punctual, v. good sense of humor -- decided to come back!

12 Feb 2019

Dear Jith,

Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday!

We thought we would give detailed feedback in email form and enclose a photo or two.

GUIDE

Our guide Chameera was just perfect. He quickly realised in early conversations what we wanted from our holiday and tailored it to be just right for us. He was quietly attentive, punctual and had a very good sense of humour, coping very well with us! He also introduced us to a bit of bird watching and despite this being a non-birding holiday, we saw ten endemics which gave us a lot of pleasure.

We had such a good experience with Cham and enjoyed Sri Lanka so much that we have decided to come back next year and would very much like Cham to be our guide. We have already discussed a rough itinerary with him for next year.

HOTELS

Kingsbury Hotel  - 5 Stars from us.

Sorrowa Resort - 3 stars from us.

For a combined wildlife and cultural trip, the bird list exceeded my expectations

24 Jan 2019

“Organising the trip could not have been any easier. It only took a couple of emails to agree the plan and then we got pricing which made clear what was and was not included. Quick turnaround on questions gave a very positive impression.

Dhammika was a good, professional guide and a safe driver. He was always good humoured and worked hard to make the holiday work smoothly yet flexibly. For a combined wildlife and cultural trip, the bird list exceeded my expectations. We all enjoyed the variety of interesting activities, good accommodations and good wildlife sightings.

As a suggestion for how to improve things, it would have been good if we had a more detailed briefing of what was happening in advanced each day, and sometimes being given a few more options to choose from would be helpful.

For example:

-if we’d known in advanced that the Yala safari included a two-hour lunch break we could have bought a book to read or activities for children.

Unexpected. He could identify trees and flowers

25 Mar 2018

Paul Nex, Judith with Guide AthulaPaul Nex, Judith with Guide Athula

Mr. Senarath, our guide for the holiday was reassuringly there to meet us when we arrived. He looked after us the whole trip occasionally offering us extra possibilities such as a shop at a spice garden or a visit to the Museum in Galle.

We had expected our guide to be able to identify birds for us and tell us something about the history and culture of the island. What was unexpected, but very much appreciated, was that he could identify trees and flowers for us.

We really appreciated the combination of a cultural and birding tour. It was just what we wanted. Everywhere the accommodation and food was good, especially overlooking the beach at Mirissa. Two days at the coast was a great way to end the trip’

Unexpected. He could identify trees and flowers

25 Mar 2018

Paul Nex, Judith with Guide Athula
Paul Nex, Judith with Guide Athula

Mr. Senarath, our guide for the holiday was reassuringly there to meet us when we arrived. He looked after us the whole trip occasionally offering us extra possibilities such as a shop at a spice garden or a visit to the Museum in Galle.

We had expected our guide to be able to identify birds for us and tell us something about the history and culture of the island. What was unexpected, but very much appreciated, was that he could identify trees and flowers for us.

We really appreciated the combination of a cultural and birding tour. It was just what we wanted. Everywhere the accommodation and food was good, especially overlooking the beach at Mirissa. Two days at the coast was a great way to end the trip’

Guide: tons of experience and enthusiasm. Outstanding birding and cultural trip

1 Feb 2018

Shailesh Pinto
Shailesh Pinto

Thank you for organizing an outstanding birding and cultural trip to Sri Lanka. The trip exceeded all my expectations!

Upali our guide was fantastic. He is and excellent birder with tons of experience and enthusiasm. Thanks to his efforts I was able to see over 180 species and all endemics. I had given up hope of seeing the last one, the scaly thrush, in Sinharaja forest. But Upali remained optimistic throughout our stay there and made sure we had good looks of this challenging endemic.

I am really glad that a friend recommended Walk With Jith. All the arrangements, accommodations and timely correspondence were wonderful. The service and food everywhere we visited was superb. I would highly recommend your company to my friends and wish you continued success.

Warmest regards,

Shailesh Pinto

Feb 1 – 14, 2018

Jith’s planning and Dammika’s execution. Itinerary was fantastic, seamless arrangements.

26 Jan 2018

Harry and Melinda Cole with Dhammika
Harry and Melinda Cole with Dhammika

Thanks to Jith’s planning and Dammika’s execution we have fallen in love with Sri Lanka. The country has exceeded our expectations. The itinerary was fantastic with seamless arrangements.

We could not have wished for a more helpful, personable driver/ guide. Dammika ensured we made the most of things, including an unscheduled train ride and buying lemon puff biscuits! The focus was on birds but also included wildlife and flora. We also had an insight into Sri Lankan life, culture and food. Beds everywhere were comfortable, staff were always friendly and helpful.

Jith for an outstanding holiday programme - good fun, highly knowledgeable Koushala

15 Jan 2018

Many thanks to our excellent, good fun, highly knowledgeable guide Koushala and his nice, smiling driver Indunil, for a superb 3 weeks in Sri Lanka. We have had a wonderful experience: amazing bird watching, fascinating cultural visits, breathtaking scenery, tasty food and many” warm encounters with Sri Lankan people across the country. The mix and variety of days has been enchanting, but also exhausting. The early mornings birding have always been exciting and fun. We were fortunate to have leopard sightings and encounters with other mammals & reptiles. The beautiful and varied Sri Lankan flora takes your breath away. No visit to this country would be complete without seeing & understanding its cultural heritage. Last but not least… we loved good Sri Lankan food and were perfectly encouraged & advised by our guide, who is well educated, able to speak English brilliantly and a wonderful ambassador for his country.

Saw 234 species including all endemics & lots of other wildlife

9 Jan 2018

<image not included>

We’ve had a wonderful holiday. We asked for a combination of birding and wildlife with some historical and cultural sites. We are very pleased with it all.

Pages