Reviews by Tour Type

Pages

“Just for us” trip made all the difference

19 Oct 2019
Olivia Pokras and Bob with Hetti

Olivia Pokras and Bob with Hetti

Dear (Walk With) Jith,

It’s hard to imagine a better trip to Sri Lanka for our interests; birds in particular, but nature in general, your efforts in working with my wife, Olivia, to design a “just for us” trip made all the difference. This trip focused on the south. It may take a few years before return (it’s a long trip to the U.S), But we are already talking about seeing the north of your wonderful country.

Many thanks,
Bob and Olivia

P.S. what can I say about Hetti?
If we are lucky enough to return, it would have to be with Hetti. He is a wonderful guide; He is an even better person.

19th  October 1st November 2018

 

Sad time to be in Sri Lanka. But it didn’t spoil our trip.

19 Apr 2019
Safari in Yala National Park -- Lisa Correl and Julian with Thilina

Safari in Yala National Park -- Lisa Correl and Julian with Thilina

Everything was fabulous. Great bird sightings. Great safari.

Excellent hotels (apart from Lake view) Lovely Sri Lankan people

Fabulous food.

Thilina is an amazing guide. Very knowledgeable – polite – nothing too much trouble. He made this a perfect tour. Very sad time to be in Sri Lanka with the awful troubles. But it didn’t spoil out trip. Thank you to Jith and Thilina !!!

Understanding, attentive, punctual, v. good sense of humor -- decided to come back!

12 Feb 2019
Christine and Carole with Chameera

Christine and Carole with Chameera

Dear Jith,

Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday!

We thought we would give detailed feedback in email form and enclose a photo or two.

GUIDE

Our guide Chameera was just perfect. He quickly realised in early conversations what we wanted from our holiday and tailored it to be just right for us. He was quietly attentive, punctual and had a very good sense of humour, coping very well with us! He also introduced us to a bit of bird watching and despite this being a non-birding holiday, we saw ten endemics which gave us a lot of pleasure.

We had such a good experience with Cham and enjoyed Sri Lanka so much that we have decided to come back next year and would very much like Cham to be our guide. We have already discussed a rough itinerary with him for next year.

HOTELS

Kingsbury Hotel  - 5 Stars from us.

Sorrowa Resort - 3 stars from us.

For a combined wildlife and cultural trip, the bird list exceeded my expectations

24 Jan 2019
Murrya Lord and Family

Murrya Lord and Family

“Organising the trip could not have been any easier. It only took a couple of emails to agree the plan and then we got pricing which made clear what was and was not included. Quick turnaround on questions gave a very positive impression.

Dhammika was a good, professional guide and a safe driver. He was always good humoured and worked hard to make the holiday work smoothly yet flexibly. For a combined wildlife and cultural trip, the bird list exceeded my expectations. We all enjoyed the variety of interesting activities, good accommodations and good wildlife sightings.

As a suggestion for how to improve things, it would have been good if we had a more detailed briefing of what was happening in advanced each day, and sometimes being given a few more options to choose from would be helpful.

For example:

-if we’d known in advanced that the Yala safari included a two-hour lunch break we could have bought a book to read or activities for children.

Our guide, knowledgeable, enthusiastic, looked after us very well

20 Jan 2019
David and Crhis Evans with Athula

David and Crhis Evans with Athula

The trip was very well organised, and we travelled in a comfortable, air-conditioned van. Athula, our guide, was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and looked after us very well, even giving us an insight into Sri Lankan life and its culture, along with plants and their uses. We saw 238 birds on our trip- an excellent total, including nearby all the endemics (or all, depending on which list) with plenty of time for photography.

The hotels were of a good standard.

Tamarind Tree Hotel – very convenient for airport food buffet. Style – ok

Plantation hotel – Quirky and interesting good food and service. Nice location.

Glenfall Reach – Standard hotel room, comfortable staff, very attentive, but food could be poor.

Hibiscus Garden – Good hotel, nice garden good for birds. Excellent staff and very good food. Only problem - hot water had run out by the time we got back from safari.

Upali: excellent care, 215 species & all endemics. Fantastic service!

8 Jan 2019

We have had the best possible birding holiday. Our guide (Upali) has taken excellent care of us throughout and found 215 species, including all the endemics. We have been able to relax totally, knowing that our guide (driver too) would take care of everything, whilst not being intrusive. We had great views of all the species. Upali has also been passionate about the cultural sites.
Jith engaged with our ideas prior to the trip and organised our tailor – made itinerary. All was so easy. At the beginning of the holiday, Walk With Jith drove us to our Air BnB accommodation near Matara, which we had arranged ourselves. The accommodation wasn’t easy to find, but the drives helped locate it and would not leave until we had checked the accommodation and were happy- even though it was our own booking. Fantastic service!    

 8-24/ 01/ 2019

Name: Alison and Nick Blinston

Brilliant family holiday trip

5 Jan 2019

Thank you you very much for a brilliant family holiday trip with a mixture of birding, nature and culture during three weeks. Great thanks for your flexibility and for giving us an excellent bird guide and driver, who was very pleasant company (upali).

20 day trip, great mix, loved Hetti

18 Dec 2018

Superb and well organised 20 day trip, loved hetti who is an expert wildlife guide. We learnt the names of many Sri Lankan birds and animals. Our trip was a great mix of different experiences from safaris and walks to ancient cultural sites. We would recommend walk with ith to others.

Our driver Sumudu had a lovely manor and kept the van very clean.
We were also appreciative of the efforts to reduce plastic water bottle waste so we bought our own water bottles and a sterilizer pen and the company provided 5 litre bottles to refill our bottles when needed.

Thank you very much Susantha. Extremely happy with everything.

14 Dec 2018

Susar gave us a feedback form to fill out but instead we’re emailing it to you as we didn't get time to fill it in by hand.

We would like to say a huge thank you to Susar for driving us around for the week. It has been the absolute best way for us to get around and see beautiful Sri Lanka.

We loved how much history Susar knew and told us about as we was passing all off the lovely landmarks. Nothing was ever too much for him and he took us wherever we needed or wanted to go.

Thank you very much, we are extremely happy with everything.

- Skjetten, Norway

Birds we would have never found ourselves!

1 Dec 2018
Pete Hughes and Alice Parfitt with Thilina break at Safari

Pete Hughes and Alice Parfitt with Thilina break at Safari

12/2018

Name: Pete Hughes + Alice Parfitt​

Thilina is an outstanding guide – he looked after us very well and made sure we saw all the birds and other wildlife. Many of the birds we would have never found ourselves! The whole tour was really well organized, good accommodation and great food along the way. Can thoroughly recommend to others.

Pages