Reviews by Tour Type

Pages

Excellent bird knowledge

16 Feb 2019
DOF group with Ingelise Petarsen 2019

DOF group with Ingelise Petarsen 2019

Hotels nice and comfortable. Good standard. All situated nice.

Bus: Very nice with space for everyone.

Bus helper: Helps with all things like water, food etc.

Sightings: Birds here there and everywhere. So nice. The guide is excellent finding them, pointing every bird out of us. Has an excellent bird knowledge.  

Bus driver: Fantastic. Very nice. Always smiling – always very careful

In all: Everybody helpful and friendly

Love some more birding – even when we have seen them all.

Such a well-organized tour and most excellent guide

12 Feb 2019
Helen and Mike Boothman with Senerath

Helen and Mike Boothman with Senerath

This was our first experience of wildlife guided tour, and overall it was very positive.

Jith kept in touch with us and responded to our questions both promptly and clearly before we set off for Sri Lanka. Also, As we organised some days on our own doing culture, history and relaxation, both at the beginning of our trip and at the end, the arrangements for meeting us and dropping us were both flexible and worked well.

Our guide, Senerath, was excellent, knowledgeable, committed and excellent at finding birds that we would have had no chance of finding on our own. He was also good at other wildlife also – butterflies, reptiles, mammals, plants etc. He also

shared with us on general culture and life in Sri Lanka generally, which we really appreciated.

Understanding, attentive, punctual, v. good sense of humor -- decided to come back!

12 Feb 2019
Christine and Carole with Chameera

Christine and Carole with Chameera

Dear Jith,

Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday!

We thought we would give detailed feedback in email form and enclose a photo or two.

GUIDE

Our guide Chameera was just perfect. He quickly realised in early conversations what we wanted from our holiday and tailored it to be just right for us. He was quietly attentive, punctual and had a very good sense of humour, coping very well with us! He also introduced us to a bit of bird watching and despite this being a non-birding holiday, we saw ten endemics which gave us a lot of pleasure.

We had such a good experience with Cham and enjoyed Sri Lanka so much that we have decided to come back next year and would very much like Cham to be our guide. We have already discussed a rough itinerary with him for next year.

HOTELS

Kingsbury Hotel  - 5 Stars from us.

Sorrowa Resort - 3 stars from us.

Unbelievable experience based on a packed 3-day program!

11 Feb 2019
Knut and Helene Nygård with Thilina

Knut and Helene Nygård with Thilina

We have had an unbelievable experience based on a 3-day program, still with pleasant pace!

First, we did change the booking last minute, and if was handled very professionally!

Then Tilly [Thilina] picked us up. A guide with great skills in driving safely. Sri Lankan culture and history, wildlife in general and the birds: EXCEPTIONAL!

We can only say thank you for this great guiding and the experience we had with you. All perfect, including improvising based on change of itinerary.

And last but not least, the stunning number of birds, the good views, the photos we have with us back home. WE sincerely recommend you to anyone who may ask!

Knut & Helene Nygård

11- 13 Feb 2019

Upali was determined, 34 endemics birds seen, 29 photographed! total 230+

9 Feb 2019

Bill Rowe
Bill Rowe with Upali

My initial contact was with Jith at the Rutland Birdfair. I was impressed by his knowledge and enthusiasm – so did not look at any other company in detail. All communication has been very prompt, all questions answered to my satisfaction and all printed material very clear (really liked the photos)

Jith promptly met me at the airport and introduced us me to Upali, my guide/ driver.

All endemics found !!!

9 Feb 2019
Marco Valentini and friends in Sinharaja

Marco Valentini and friends in Sinharaja

We have been birding with Walk With Jith 26.1 – 9.2.2019. The orientation and schedule comes from experience and have fully satisfied our expectations. Concerning hotel accommodation I suggest for photographers, Martin’s Lodge when in Sinharaja. Our *** totaled more than 210 species, of which many nicely photographed, often in challenging conditions. A special mention to our guide Thilina that is always available and flexible, tireless and knowledgeable. With his continuous efforts we have really enjoyed our stay here in Sri Lanka.

Great, Jith and Thilina

Marco Valentini and friends – Italy

P.S. All endemics have been found!!!

Saman - Experienced tour leader. All 34 endemics,totally 254 species. Wonderful, well-planned and memorable trip

2 Feb 2019
Peter Lafrenz and DOF Group with top tour guide Saman Weediyabandara

Peter Lafrenz and DOF Group with top tour guide Saman Weediyabandara

DOF- Travel, Birdlife Denmark, has this year two trips to Sri Lanka. One in January and one in February. As tour leader for trip 1, 16 days in January 2019, I hereby give our agency in Sri Lanka Walk With Jith our greatest recommendations.

At arrival in the airport we were greeted by Jith and our local guide Saman. Bus driver and bus-helper were there as well, and we got quickly into the bus with our luggage. Jith gave every one of us a fine map of Sri- Lanka, a pocket guide to the mammals of Sri Lanka, a checklist of the birds with fine pictures and 1 pair of leech-socks, and all of this was for free.

In the next 16days we were led through Sri Lanka’s lovely bird sites. Everything went according to plan. Saman is a very experienced tour leader knowing his birds and where to find them, and it was not the first time, that he had led one of our tours. He is very easy to walk with, and he will secure us the right way, if you were on the wrong way.

Happily personalized the itinerary to suit our requirements

1 Feb 2019

Liz Pierce 1 with Chameera
Liz Pierce 1 with Chameera

We are so pleased we booked with “Walk With Jith” from our first enquiry, the company was professional and responsive, and happy to design our personal itinerary to suit our requirements. Our guide Chameera was very knowledgeable and worked very hard to make our bird watching holiday so enjoyable.

We have seen a total of 186 birds, of which 29 were endemics. Of those we saw 180 and 26 endemics during the tour with Chameera of walkwithjith. We have had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday with Chameera. We saw the 26 endemics in just 2 days.

We will be happy to recommend walkwithjith to our friends and family.

Regards,

Simon and Liz Pierce
London, UK

Good value for a memorable experience

1 Feb 2019
Ian Wallies and Wendy

Ian Wallies and Wendy

Susantha is everything one could wish for in a guide, possessing birding and people kills in equal measure. He willingly shared his knowledge, his love of Sri Lanka and enthusiasm for birding while adapting the itinerary to meet our physical limitations and putting up with our grousing about the early morning starts. He really made an effort to make sure we saw what we came to see.

I would recommend walk with Jith to anyone looking for a birding trip to Sri Lanka. We were entirely satisfied with the transportation, hotels, meals – not to mention the wonderful sightings of birds and other wildlife. Good value for a memorable experience.

 

Recommended for anybody wanting the very best of birding in Sri Lanka

25 Jan 2019
Alan Wall with Thilina

Allan Wall with Thilina

This tour has been very successful in every way. The number of species seen in seven days exceeded my expectations. The total being 121. my guide Thilina was experienced at finding the endemic birds we were focusing on together with his knowledge of all things about the natural world.
The accommodation was very good and had been well selected. I rate Thilina as the very best guide one could have in Sri Lanka.
On general issues I found walk with Jith easy to work with and recommend them to anybody wanting the very best of birding in Sri Lanka.

Alan Wall
Bristol, UK

Pages