Tour reviews from 2011

Wonderful! A bit of colonial history and amazing location

29 Dec 2011

Randy, Nancy and Paul at Sinharaja
Randy, Nancy and Paul at Sinharaja

Nov 29 – Dec 09, 2011

Jith and Silva
Thanks so much for an amazing journey through your wonderful land and tone of Sri Lanka. You went over and above that was appxxxx to  show us the landscapes, wild life, people and culture. It has been a remarkable journey and welcome “vacation” from Indiaxxx. Hopefully we will meet up again back in Sri Lanka or Canada. 
Many thanks for sharing your life with ours.

Nancy Vered
Paul de Leon
Randy Eng
Vancover BC Canada

Feedback

Day 1 – Galle Face Hotel
Wonderful! A bit of colonial history and amazing location

Day 2 – Winsor Park
Yes! Definitely a visit to the town is worthwhile.

We had never done a tour before, of any sorts, so were a bit nervous – but this has been perfect

15 Dec 2011

Thrish and Andrew at Yala National Park
Thrish and Andrew at Yala National Park

More information and photos of this tour is in the trip report they wrote is here >>

15th December 2011

Opportunities to have fantastic close ups of superb birds.

13 Nov 2011

Judith, Alan and Jane, Jeff at Horton Plain
Judith, Alan and Jane, Jeff at Horton Plain

13th to 29th November 2011

A wonderful trip to this beautiful island expertly organized and guided by Jith and ably assisted by Mr. Silva, who charming and courteous driver. Wonderful scenery, great food and opportunities to have fantastic close ups of superb birds.
A truly memorable and magical trip. 
With our grateful Thanks    

Jeff and Janet Hollyhead - USA
Judith and Alan Savarge – UK

Dinner at The Cricket Club!

1 Nov 2011

Pat & Garry and Monica and John Kirby with Jith in Bundala Wetland
Pat & Garry and Monica and John Kirby with Jith in Bundala Wetland

01st to 15th Nov. 2011,

Wonderful itinerary – A varied mixture of hotels, each ideal for the places

8 Oct 2011

Neil Stewart, Nandana n Julia Chandler
Neil Stewart, Nandana n Julia Chandler

08th October 2011

Wonderful itinerary – A varied mixture of hotels, each ideal for the places, staff excellent in all hotels.

We spent two weeks in the expert hands of Nandana who showed us many of the cultural sites of central Sri Lanka and the wonderful wildlife. It could not have been better organized and Nandana was a great guide , tracker and driver, showing humor and friendship throughout the trip. He rose to our challenge to find owls (a particular interest)

Thank you Nandana for your wonderful company and for being a great ambassador for Sri Lanka, it’s beautiful place and wildlife

Neil Stewart
Julia Chandler

Rochester, Kent, UK

It covers half of Sri Lanka most wonderful wildlife and natural scenery

7 Oct 2011

William, Molly,  Florence and Tony at Bundala 
William, Molly, Florence and Tony at Bundala 

威廉,莫利,弗洛伦斯和托尼于达拉

Feedback – Wildlife & Heritage Tour 
7th Oct -  19th Oct 2011

Tony Hung, William But, Molly Fu & Florence Kwan (Hong Kong)

(Tony Hung is a conservation officer, Mai Po Projects, of Mai Po Wildlife Education Centre and Nature Reserve in Hong Kong)

11 out of 10 rating!

29 Sep 2011

Susan & Dale Harney

Susan & Dale Harney
9/29/2011

Comments on hotels

Ranweli Holiday Village:  Rating 8/10
Room very clean/nice. Bathroom very new/clean. Food was good. Service was great. Exchange rate was high (close to bank rate).

Sigiriya village hotel: Rating 6/10
Room was older, average. Food was good. Bathroom not as nice as other hotels. Service was great.

Amaya Hills (Kandy): Rating 9/10
Beautiful grounds & rooms. Very clean. Amazing pool + view. Food was great.

Club Hotel Dolphin (Waikkal): Rating 10/10
Received a room upgrade. Very accommodating in terms of late checkout. Food was excellent. Service was excellent. Huge pool.
 

Other notes:

11 out of 10 rating!

We do hope to return in a year or two...maybe combined with an English cricket tour!

1 Aug 2011

Nandana, Nick and Jane Rogers - 14 Aug 2011 087
Nandana, Nick and Jane Rogers

1/8/2011

Comments on hotels:

Galle Face Hotel: Great room & view. Good facilities very clean. Food good. Excellent pool.
Palm Garden: Good room. Food OK. Excellent pool. Good service.
Windsor Park Farm: Food & Service excellent. Excellent walk with Mr. Upul. Bathroom should be cleaned every day. TV hard to work.
Hotel Suisse: Excellent room. Excellent breakfast. TV- poor picture. Service OK. Drivers room not good.
Corbett’s Rest: Great room. Wonderful view. Excellent service. Excellent food. The best cup of tea in Sri Lanka!! Wonderful walks. Great guide.

E-mail:

Hi Jith,

Came to Sri Lanka mainly for the birds and wildlife. Thanks to you for all your knowledge of the cultural side

26 Jul 2011

Dave and Sarah Hobson with Jith- 14 Aug 2011
Dave and Sarah Hobson with Jith - 14 Aug 2011

26 July to 9th August 2011    - 15 nights 16  days

Well where do we start. Thank you Jith for an amazing trip. We wasn’t sure what we would make of Sri Lanka but we love it and thanks to you for all your knowledge of the cultural side. 
We came to Sri Lanka mainly for the birds and wildlife. Before we arrived in Sri Lanka we exchanged lots of emails asking if we could see bats and leopards. He delivered us with 100s of bats and 3 leopards so was very happy. Birdwatching wise was excellent. We saw 27 of 33 endemic birds, 175 species of Birds in total of which 112 where new (would have been happy with a 100).

Jaya was an excellent guide – very friendly attentive and met all our requests

11 Jul 2011

Chris & Polly Ford
Poly Erricker & Chris Ford

Comments on Hotels

1. Club Hotel Dolphin

  • Clean, basic hotel
  • Polite staff
  • Good facilities
  • Good location on beach

2. Palm Garden Village

  • Excellent hotel
  • Good food
  • Staff remembered room number! (at meals)
  • Beautiful surroundings and atmosphere
  • Feeling of privacy
  • Wifi in lobby

3. Sigiriya Village

  • Good room
  • Pleasant surroundings
  • No tea/coffee facilities in room
  • Limited facilities

4. Amaya Hills

  • Excellent views
  • Good food
  • Good facilities
  • Wifi in lobby
  • Thin walls (noisy!)

5. Kani Lanka

Jaya was key factor in making our holiday enjoyable

29 Apr 2011

Andy and Emily
Andy and Emily
UK

Feedback: Culture tour 16th April – 29th April

Birding has been wonderful under Jith’s expert guidance and boundless patience!!

17 Apr 2011

Sue n Mick Clark
Sue n Mick Clark

17th April to 1st May 2011

A wonderful holiday that has been all that was promised and more! Jith has been attentive since the day we contacted him over the internet. He has provided a brilliant service,  a tailor made itinary that has given us a wonderful insight into this fascinating country.

The birding has been wonderful under Jith’s expert guidance and boundless patience!! We have learned so much about the history of the island and experienced such a variety of towns, villages, historical and religious sites. Some highlights: Reclining Stone Buddha; making it to the top of Sigiriya, fire walking dancers; Landover Safari; 35 new birds a day; more Buddha’s in caves; curry for breakfast; monkeys and elephants ----  and more and more.

A never ending supply of funny stories and simple jokes has kept us amused throughout

16 Apr 2011

lesley-scott-n-jenney-scott-at-martins-lodge.jpg
Lesley Scott n Jenney Scott at Martin's Lodge

16/04/2011

How can we put into words what a wonderful week we have had?

You have created for both our needs, as amateurs birders who can’t always see what you want her to see and teenage princess who hates to move an inch without checking her hair, but you made her see the light + visit the rainforest wearing leech socks + funny waterproofs and no makeup + trimmings + and she actually enjoyed herself!! You have taught us so much about your wonderful Island and your passion and enthusiasm is inspiring. A never ending supply of funny stories and simple jokes has kept us amused us throughout and I am sure we have amused you with our funny English ways + “things”.

Leopards in Yala, passing close by our jeep

11 Apr 2011

David Harper, Nandana n Nora Harper
David Harper, Nandana n Nora Harper
11th to 30th April 2011 (20 days/ 19 nights)

What an amazing island Sri Lanka is!

Our introduction to Jith was at last August's Bird Fair (Rutland water) we know instantly that "Walk With Jith" was the ideal way to see the diversity of wild life, birds and habitats. E-mail correspondence started out the itinerary and all was very easily sorted.

Great experience, awe-inspiring, stunning, memorable as a complete package

5 Apr 2011

<Image not available>

5th - 16th April 2011

Alastair and Rebecca Francis 

I don't think that there is a most memorable part of the holiday as it was memorable as a complete package. If pushed i would say that stunning views of the tea plantations and the beautiful terraced smallholdings of the local Sri Lankans on the way to Nuwara Eliya were awe-inspiring and the cave temples in Dambulla were simply stunning. The mini safari in Uduwallawa National Park was great fun and we loved seeing all the elephants at such close hand.

We loved Sri Lanka, the birds and the people

11 Mar 2011

<Image not available>

2001 March 11

Many thanks Jith for our second birding trip with you albeit only a week this time.

Although a shortened trip the birding as ever was superb and the transport and support from “Mr. Silva” was second to none. (as was his ever present smile)

We loved Sri Lanka, the birds and the people the first time we came and nothing has altered, long may it remain unchanged!

Phil & Di Swanwick
STOKE-ON-TRENT

Chinese, Hong Kong and Taiwan Wildlife Photographers

10 Mar 2011

 

中国大陆,香港和台湾的野生动物摄影家

Chinese, Hong Kong and Taiwan Wildlife Photographers - 2012
Chinese, Hong Kong and Taiwan Wildlife Photographers - 2012

中国大陆,香港和台湾的野生动物摄影家2012

Some Photographs from the tour are here:
http://www.birdnet.cn/showtopic-330639-1.aspx

 

These photographers from China, Hong Kong and Taiwan went on a bird, wildlife and nature photography tour in Sri Lanka with Walk With Jith. Here is their tour comments / tour review:

Dear Jith
Thanks for arranging a mazing trip for Chinese birder, and many EN [endemic] birds. Hope can birding with you again.
Zong MenXiu​

这些摄影师来自中国大陆,香港和台湾,在斯里兰卡与Walk with Jith一同观鸟, 看野生动物以及进行自然摄影。以下是他们对行程的评价和回顾:

亲爱的Jith,

感谢你为中国鸟人们安排如此惊喜的旅程。我们看到了很多特有鸟种。希望能够再次与你一同观鸟。

We are very grateful to Jith for his honest dealings with us

21 Feb 2011

Barry & Jane Kyme
Barry & Jane Kyme

March 2011

Initially we contacted Jith who was unable to accompany us on the dates required. Having been badly treated by another well known bird guide we again contacted Jith who said he could arrange our trip with Nandana.  This worked out very much for the better as Nandana worked hard to find as many birds as possible  and to make sure we had everything we could need along with being good company. We are very grateful to Jith for his honest dealings with us and would not hesitate to recommend his or Nandana’s services to anyone.

Barry & Jane Kyme
UK

This was our second trip to Sri Lanka with Jith as our guide

20 Feb 2011

Steve and Malinda
Steve and Malinda

20 February – 12 March 2011

Here are the comments that Malinda has written:

The organization of the entire trip has been faultless

29 Jan 2011

Alan - Jith - Betty Fowles - Gery - Tina Shirt - Mr Silva
Alan - Jith - Betty Fowles - Gery - Tina Shirt - Mr Silva

29.01.2011 – 12.02.2011

We’ve had this trip booked for 18 months & it was worth the wait – despite the heavy rain & flooding we experienced in the first week. For my first ever “birding” holiday this was tough but Jith has shown great patience & now I’m “hooked”.

The habitats have been as varied as the accommodations & that variety has enriched the experience. We’re currently in Galle with your final adventure in the morning. Down to Merissa at 05.15 am to go in search of the mighty Blue Whale. Fingers crossed we were lucky as we were in Yala when we saw a leopard with a young cub.

We found it quite tiring to be travelling for more than 3 weeks

28 Jan 2011

nandana-and-nicholas-and-carol-king-and-jugy-and-judyand-michael-bates.jpg
Photo: Nandana, Nicholas and Carol King, Judyand Michael Bates

28th January - 22 February 2011

Nick & Carol King and Michael & Judy Bates toured with Walk With Jith in 2011. Read Nick's comprehensive tour comment here >>

Dear Prasanjith

Sorry not to have got back to you earlier. We've attached our itinerary with comments on the trip highlighted in yellow. The trip mostly went well although the weather was wet at times. At least we were lucky not to get caught up in the serious floods.

I was told how brilliant you [Jith] were at finding the birds

12 Jan 2011

Barry n Brenda Mack - Ann n Peter Langham
Barry n Brenda Mack - Ann n Peter Langham

12 – 25/1/2011

I have been looking forward to this trip for quite a while – ever since you were introduced to me when you were birding at the RSPB reserve of the Saltholme . I was told how brilliant you were at finding the birds, but it did not prepare us for just how wonderful your country is. As Barry and Brenda have written, you opened up the country of Sri Lanka to us all and you exceeded my expectations over the birds.

I hope that one day you will see an English medow pipit, and a puffin with several sand eels in its bill!

Than you Jith, & your crew
Peter & Ann Langham
Derbington
***

23 01 2011