Tour reviews from 2014

We certainly recommend Walk With Jith

12 Dec 2014

Tijmen van Doornik and Miranda van Doornik with Nandana
​Tijmen van Doornik and Miranda van Doornik with Nandana

10-12-2014

IN February 2014 we were making plans for a trip to Sri Lanka in November / December. We wanted to see to see the (endemic) birds but also animals (leopards) and some culture. We booked our trip with Walk With Jith and we are very glad we booked it here.

The tour was perfectly organized by Walk With Jith. The accommodations were good and we had a perfect guide. The reason why we booked with Walk With Jith is because of a good recommendation from friends and because it’s a small company with personal contact.

Guide who has a very good knowledge to the wildlife

6 Dec 2014

 

Bard Nyberg and Jill Ringstad
Bard Nyberg and Jill Ringstad

6/12.14

Two fantastic weeks with our guide Saman. We managed to encounter all endemic birds thanks to the efforts from our guide who has a very good knowledge to the wildlife (especially the birds), nature and the culture. Everything went  really smoothly and I will recommend walkwithjith to all birders with plans to visit the country.

Thanks to the careful arrangement by Jith and the great company of the most affable, Hetti.

6 Dec 2014

Bird watching and photographing in Sinharaja Sri Lanka Sri Lanka - Sheau Torng Lim and Carine Nah with Hetti
Bird watching and photographing in Sinharaja Sri Lanka Sri Lanka - Sheau Torng Lim and Carine Nah with

Lim Sheau Torng
19 12 2014

A birding, wildlife and cultural tour expertly organized

20 Nov 2014

sabine-schmitt-and-john-middleton.jpg
Sabine Schmitt, John Middleton with Hetti

Sabine Schmitt, John Middleton
20.11. – 4.12.2014

We have spent an amazing two weeks in Sri Lanka, a birding, wildlife and cultural tour expertly organized by Jith with patience to changing requests and very helpful suggestions to adapt the itinerary to our wishes and needs. Our guide / driver, He brought Sri Lankan history and culture to life and tried very successfully (in – times difficult weather conditions) to find and show us all the birds and wildlife we wanted to see.

Hiring a local tour operator over a big international company - fully up to what I wanted

15 Nov 2014

Carsten Enevoldsen

November 15, 2014.

Walk With Jith lived fully up to what I wanted and hoped for when Hiring the services of a local agency instead of a group tour by a big international company. It's very adopted to personal needs, great flexibility and a very nice, competed and hum ---th guide. Walk With Jith also was very helpful in organizing just tour --ti miles with other operators which is very important for an individual traveler as me. Thanks for very good memories and my ---- recommendations to other potential travelers.

Carsten Enevoldsen

Thank you also for ensuring that all 12 of us enjoyed our varied interests

5 Nov 2014

Group from UK 2015 November

05 11 2014 to 19 11 2014
Birds & Wildlife of Sri Lanka

Jith – Thank you so much for organizing and leading a superb trip to your wonderfully interesting and beautiful island.
Thank you also for ensuring that all 12 of us enjoyed our varied interests in the wildlife; cultural sites and of course, the amazing birds.
Each of us have many memories which will last a lifetime and your commentary on the culture, history and peoples of Sri Lanka was delightful.
From the mountains of Nuwara Eliya to the rainforest at Kitulgala; from the leopards of Yala to the bird wave of Sinharaja.
Thank you,
Tony O’Neill
Wakefield – U.K.
-    Comments from and list of other trip participants on facing page. 
Birds blip total – 225 (including 32 of 33 endemics)


 

Nandana was excellent. Services provided by Walk With Jith; high standard

1 Oct 2014

C Y Wong and Vivi
C Y Wong and Vivi

1 – 8 Oct 2014

The services provided by the wildlife guide, Nandana was excellent.
Villa Talangama is very impressive and also the services provided here in was perfect.
The transportation time between each spot is considered too long. It generally took 4 – 6 hours.
The raining come every day also made the birding difficult and caused trouble in taking photos.
Conclusively, the services provided by Walk With Jith are considered in high standard and deserve to be recommended.
C Y Wong and Vivi
Hong Kong

A bird watching group of 11 from China

30 Sep 2014

chinese-bird-group-20141005-134059.jpg
Chinese Bird Group 2014 at a central hill country tea plantation

2014年中国观鸟团于中部山区茶叶种植区

A bird watching group of 11 from China toured with us from 30 September to 6 October and the below is their tour comment.

9月30日至10月6日来自中国的十一人观鸟团与我们一同观鸟,以下是他们对行程的评论

chinese-bird-group-2014-1006-21132000.jpg
Chinese Bird Group 2014 in Kingsbury Hotel, Galle Face, Colombo

2014年中国观鸟团的行程评论

Chinese Group 2014 tour comment
Chinese Bird Group 2014 - tour comment

珠水鸟人来斯国

江海相连意相通

旅程处处欢乐多

鸟儿精灵连友谊

珠江旅鸟全体成员

欢迎Jith到广州来观鸟

欢迎来广州!

梁敏玲、龙役宇、黄惠萍、慧茵、何秀晨、林劭晖、张姗、卜标、游月殷

The Sri Lanka feast on our final night was delicious

20 Sep 2014

Prasanjith briefing on the food at the dinner table to Isabelle and Bert
Prasanjith briefing on the food at the dinner table to Isabelle and Bert

20 September 2014

To Jith,

Thank you for organizing the most wonderful tour of Sri Lanka for us. We loved every minute. It is such a beautiful country. We thank you to Upali also – a wonderful driver, guide, naturalist and friend. Finally thank you for letting us stay at your amazing house and sharing special family time with Nirosha and Dinitha and us. Such an honour to meet you all. It felt like we had known each other for years! And the Sri Lanka feast on our final night was delicious – we will be dreaming of the food when we are back in Australia!

Love from Isabelle & Bert :)

Consistently excellent views of the splendid Sri Lankan birds

1 Sep 2014

Keith and Lynn Youngs with Nandana

Keith and Lynn Youngs
1/9/14

We both thoroughly enjoyed our ‘Walk With Jith’ bird watching tour of Sri Lanka.

We cannot gault any aspect of the tour. Accommodation was good thought out and our guide Nandana went out of the way to provide us with consistently excellent views of the splendid Sri Lankan birds. The wonderful mammals in the Yala National Park were an added bonus, especially the Sloth Bear and Sri Lanka Leopard. Thank you very much for organizing such a memorable trip for us.

Lynn and Keith Youngs.

It was intended to combine birdwatching with visits to historical / cultural sites

29 Aug 2014

Chuca, Supurna and Eduaro De Juana
Chuca, Supurna and Eduaro De Juana

Eduardo De Juana
29/08/2014

This tour has fulfilled our expectations. It was intended to combine birdwatching with visits to historical / cultural sites such as Sigiriya, Polonnaruwa and Kandy and in bothe areas we got really satisfied. Taking into account the season (August) and the amount of time employed in non-birding activities, the final score of 181 bird species seen, including almost every Sir Lankan endemic, is most satisfactory. The skills and hard work of our guide explain much of it. We also managed to see and photograph many reptiles and mammals including two leopards, one of them at a very close range.

A birdwatching and photography team of 10 from mainland China

15 Aug 2014

中国大陆十人观鸟摄影团

15th to 26th August 2014

A birdwatching and photography team of 10 from mainland China, toured with us in August 2014. They visited Kandy, Nuwara Eliya, Yala National Park, Bundala National Park, Sinharaja Rainforest and Kitulgala Forest Reserve and finally Talangama wetland.

2014年8月15日至26日

中国大陆第十观鸟摄影团于2014年8月与我们一起观鸟。他们前往了康堤、努沃勒埃利耶、亚拉国家公园、邦达拉国家公园、辛哈拉加雨林、基图尔格勒森林保护区、塔朗伽马湿地。

 

Birding Group from China, Jerry Liu is missing in the photo - Photo by Jerry Liu
Birding Group from China, Jerry Liu is missing in the photo - Photo by Jerry Liu

中国观鸟团,JerryLiu摄,Jerry Liu不在照片中

We had a wonderful time and the trip was well planned and organized.

15 Aug 2014

Nandanaand Phillip (Phil) Marriot and Amanda
​Nandana, Phillip Marriott and Amanda

Phil Marriott
15/08/14

We had a wonderful time and the trip was well planned and organized. Our guide and driver did everything in his power to ensure things ran smoothly and safely. Too many highlights to mention but seeing leopard, sloth bear, Serandips Scopes Owl, Malabar Pied Hornbill, Green-Billed Coucal, Whistling Thrush, Bush Wabler, Sri Lanka Spur Fowl to mention but a few.

We recommend WWJ for birdwatching in Sri Lanka

11 Aug 2014

​Senerath, Gabriel and Anne from France
Senerath, Gabriel and Anne from France

Anne and Gabriel Leboff
August 11th to 21st 2014

We recommend WWJ for birdwatching in Sri Lanka. All the tour was prepared and our guide Senerath did a great job!

We could exchange and by this way, we got a better knowledge of the country and for sure about the endemic (and non endemic!) birds.

Just some highlights: Yellow eared bulbul, chestnut back owlet, oriental blue magpie and by overall, even if it’s not an endemic bird; Malabar Trogon male and female. Thanks to WWJ and Serenath for the extraordinary vacation trip. We will come back home with great remembers and some nice photos!

Anne & Gabriel

Well thought out and varied 10 day tour. Competitive price

31 Jul 2014

Jeremy Lang and family
Laurence, Manju(guide), Jeremy, Gaspard, Josephine, Penelope in Sri Lanka

31 July 2014

Dear Jith,

Just a few words to say what a wonderful 10 day trip you organized for us in Sri Lanka. We adored every day of the trip, each day better in reality than on paper!

Manju is a jewel and drove us safely and with great connivance everywhere—he never got lost which we found amazing! He also is a jack of local knowledge and was never short of an explanation for the many questions we posed.

Group from China - July 2014

24 Jul 2014

Welcome Jith Come to Xi'an China

中国团-2014年7月

欢迎Jith来中国西安

Chinese Group July 2004

Chinese Birding Group July 2014 002

Chinese Birding Group July 2014 - Tour comment

斯里兰卡--印度洋上的一滴眼泪。那是旅程的喜悦,那是收获的开心。非常感谢杰特以其团队——敦厚圆融,全心全意!

空中精灵联友情。

张建中,秦立伟

欢迎杰特来中国古城西安!

王建国(网名:立杆)

第二次来斯里兰卡,一如既往的热情服务,精美的纪念品,美丽的精灵!还会再来!刘立峰Jerry@环球鸟类摄影聚乐部合伙人

 

Sri Lanka is a drop of tear on the Indian Ocean. It’s the joy of the trip and the happy feeling from gains. Thanks to Jith and his team! They are sincere and easygoing and provide the best service heart and soul!

The fairies from the sky link up our friendship.

We made a lifelong friend with Jith. Over the years we have met up at the Rutland Birdfair.

26 Apr 2014

Dave and Maureen Nelson at Polonnaruwa Watadage
Dave and Maureen Nelson at Polonnaruwa Watadage

26th April – 9th May 2014
Dave and Maureen Nelson

Dear Jith,

Thank you again for a wonderful holiday! My wife and I first came to Sri Lanka in 1983 on a cultural tour and the amazing sights we saw have stayed in our hearts and minds to this day. I am an avid bird watcher and Jith was recommended by a friend from our local Bird Club. So in Feb 2009 I traveled with Bob a birdwatching mate to Sri Lanka for two weeks intensive birdwatching with Jith and Mr. Silva. We were not disappointed! Not only was it a memorable trip we made a lifelong friend w Jith.

Nandana has been an excellent guide. 180+ birds seen!

25 Mar 2014

Lillian, Nandana and Clare
Lillian, Nandana and Clare

25 March – 15 April 2014
Lillian Briggs & Clare Kennedy

Dear Jith/ Nandana

Thnk you so much for such a well organized, enjoyable trip – the perfect holiday and introduction to Sri Lanka.

Throughout our time here Nandana has been an excellent guide – nothing has been too much trouble and he has gone out of his way to ensure that we was all that  we  had hoped to see – bleu whales, leopards, sloth bears, elephants to name but a few!!
For two old birds to see 180+ species of the feathered kind was an experience that we never imagined we would enjoy so much – we are no longer the frivolous birders we once were! Thank you for adapting the itinerary to include Sinharaja, enabling us to see a feeding ‘party’ and fgrogmouths – despite being leeched.

Birding and wildlife photographing in Sri Lanka

22 Mar 2014

Lindsay, Dave and Mandy
Lindsay, Dave and Mandy

Birding and wildlife photographing in Sri Lanka. 22 March - 04 April 2014

Dave Bowes & Lindsay Keeley with Mandy West from UK.

Tour review 1

Tour review 2

Tour review 3

Tour review 4

Ideal balance between culture and birding

2 Mar 2014

David Bush, John &  Anne Wilson, Clive Ellis, Alan Rosney, Huw Thomas, Christine Trew and Hazel Peters and tour guide Nandana
David Bush, John &  Anne Wilson, Clive Ellis, Alan Rosney, Huw Thomas, Christine Trew and Hazel Peters and tour guide Nandana

2ND – 16TH MARCH 2014

Hi Jith, Nandana

We arrived home very tired Sunday evening at around 10 p.m. UK time which would be 3:30 a.m. Monday in Colombo, so a long journey. It's nice and sunny here although rather chilly compared to Sri Lanka!

33 endemics, 213 birds | it was a wonderful introduction to birding in Asia

27 Feb 2014

Rob and Alice at Kitulgala village
Rob and Alice at Kitulgala village

See Rob's fantastic 400+ photos here >>

Rob's bird checklist PDF is here >>

27 February – 10 March 2014

Rob and Alice

Tour party of 2 with the first 2 days Jith as a guide, and the remainder with Upali as a guide

Dear Jith and Upali,

Thank you very much for a birding trip which surpassed our expectations.

This was our second visit to this lovely country and we really love it.

9 Feb 2014

<Image not available>

Joy and Iain Harper
9 Feb to 2nd March

We enjoyed our tour with the very knowledgeable Nandana as our guide.
The whistling thrush was elusive as we were told but we finally nailed it with great sightings of both male and female.

Accommodation was mixed – Martin's lodge in Sinharaja village is really only acceptable because of it's superb location. Binota residency in Nuwara Eliya was noisy and dirty and I would not recommend it to anyone.

In all hotels the food has been good even at Binota once we switched to local dishes. This was our second visit to this lovely country and we really love it.

Stunning views of a leopard & up close-and-personal with at least one blue whale

5 Feb 2014

Mike, Jill, John and Helen at Trincomalee
Mike, Jill, John and Helen at Trincomalee

5 – 9 February 2014.
Lewis / Franklin
Tour Party # 2

Dear Jith & Manjou,

Thank you very much for such an enjoyable trip. We have been delighted to return for the 2nd time and add yet more animals & birds to our lists of the fantastic fauna of Sri Lanka!.

Although this wasn’t solely a birding holiday we still managed to see 190+ species; 20 mammals inc stunning views of a leopard & up close-and-personal with at least one blue whale. A pod of 60 spinning dolphins was a bonus.

We thoroughly enjoyed our cultural tours in Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa & Trinco. Jith has proved once again his knowledge of all things historical and Sinhalese.

It was your organisation that allowed us to get such a lot out of our 20 days

2 Feb 2014

<Image not available>

2 - 21 Feb 2014

Hi Jith
I told Abe that we would send feedback through to you by email – here it is.
The main thing is that Nicola and I had a wonderful time in Sri Lanka – our holiday was very successful and exceeded our expectations. You have a beautiful country with a rich wildlife and some interesting history but it was your organisation that allowed us to get such a lot out of our 20 days there. Thank you for all you did to help us enjoy so much – and in spite of us giving you only a few week’s notice.

Particular positives:
The accommodation worked very well overall in spite of the lateness of our booking, (which meant that we didn’t get what would have been your first choice). Locations were generally very good, and facilities were at the correct level for us – comfortable and clean but not too ‘precious’ or synthetic.

Sandun and Silva were excellent.

1 Feb 2014

<Image not available>

1 - 21 February 2014

Hi Jith

We had a great time in Sri Lanka. We will definitely come again.

Sandun and Silva were excellent. They looked after us all the way. Apart from making sure that we saw all the birds, 215 species, Sandun made us understand your country by showing us the ancient sites, explaining about Buddhism, getting us to try the local fruits. He really made our holiday.

The hotels and food were all very good. 

So thank you for arranging the itinerary, thanks to Silva for his excellent driving and a specially big thank you to Sandun for looking after us and introducing us to your country.

The only problem was, that at Sinharaja, we should have been staying at the Blue Magpie which was nearer to the forest and where we had arranged to meet friends, unfortunately we didn't realise until the last minute that we'd been moved to a different hotel, which was disappointing.

Fantastic tour with a wonderful and extremely knowledgeable guide.

28 Jan 2014

david-hicklinand-nandana-and-chris-wormleighton.jpg
David Hicklin, Nandana and Chris Wormleighton

28/1/2014

Fantastic tour with a wonderful and extremely knowledgeable guide.
We toured for 20 days seeing all the endemic birds of Sri Lanka with good or very good views of all but one. Our guide tried very hard for the last one but we were unsuccessful.

Other highlights were great views of leopards in Yala and Blue and Bryde's Whales off the coast of Mirrisa.
The trip was well organized and we were well treated throughout.

Many thanks,
Chris & Dave.

Fabulous adventure we had with you as our guide!!

20 Jan 2014

Patricia and Lois

Patricia and Lois

20 Jan – 02 Feb 2014

Dear Jith,

Now, nearly two weeks after getting home, I am no longer jet lagged!!  But, it took until this week-end.

Now Patty and I are reminiscing about the fabulous adventure we had with you as our guide!! We had so much fun enjoying the birds, the culture, countryside, food, people and adventure. We learned a lot regarding how the different cultures/religions live and work together….We’ve had good laughs about leeches that we were so squeamish about!  I can’t believe how much trouble I caused in finding the Spur Fowl—but I’m glad we did it! However, none of this would have been so much fun without you as our guide and Manju as our driver. You two are a good pair to be with and Sri Lanka is beautiful!

Beautiful & Unforgettable Sri Lanka - Jerry Liu

15 Jan 2014

美丽难忘的斯里兰卡

China - Photography Group 2014
China - Photography Group 2014

中国摄影团2014

This group of 8 from China toured with Walk With Jith in January 2014. These Chinese wildlife photographers toured in Anavilundawa Wetland, Kitulgala Rainforest, Udawalawa National Park, Yala National Park, Bundala Wetland and Thalangama Wetland.

2014年1月,来自中国的八人团与Walk with Jith一同观鸟。这些中国的野外摄影师前往了Anavilundawa湿地、基图尔格勒雨林、乌达瓦拉瓦国家公园、亚拉国家公园 邦达拉湿地、塔朗伽马湿地。

Tour Comment page 1

美丽而难忘的斯里兰卡,我会再来!感谢杰特!

环球野鸟摄影俱乐部(深圳)

刘立峰

微信号:worldbird

 

Beautiful & Unforgettable Sri Lanka! I’ll be back! Thanks Jith!

Jerry Liu

Jan 15, 2014